Educational Resource Development Council

The Educational Resource Development Council (ERDC) is comprised of influential and philanthropic women within our community who are interested in learning about and promoting the latest advances and techniques in fields of health as they relate to the University of Utah Health Sciences.  Active members attend eight presentations a year and give a minimum of $1,000 annually to the ERDC Scholarship and Program Fund. These donations support student scholarships within the Colleges of Pharmacy, Nursing, Health; the School of Medicine and the School of Dentistry. They also award funding for various projects and programs within the Health Sciences. The Council consists of 60–80 women and has existed for more than 20 years.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Educational Resource Development Council is to educate and inform council members about the latest advances and techniques in fields of health as they relate to the University of Utah Health Sciences Center. ERDC provides the opportunity to meet together as a group and share an interest in understanding health care concerns. Members invest time and financial support toward educational scholarships, medical technology and health care programs.

For additional information see the Educational Resource Development Council Bylaws.

Upcoming Presentations

February 22, 2016
David H. Perrin, PhD,
Dean, College of Health
Overview of the College of Health

March 28, 2016
ERDC Student Scholarship Interviews
9:00 – 3:30

April 25, 2016
Amit Patel, MD, MS,
Associate Professor, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Heart Stem Cell Injection During Surgery

May 23, 2016
Safdar Ansari, MD,
Chief, Division of Neurocritical Care
Greg Hawryluk, MD, PhD,
Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery
Neuro Critical Care Unit and Telestroke Program

Past Presentations

September 17, 2014
Tom Lane, PhD
Exploring the Therapeutic Potential of Human Stem Cells
(Joint Council Presentation)

October 27, 2014
Janet Iwasa, PhD
Cell Animation and Visualization of Molecular Processes

November 17, 2014 (Third Monday due to holiday)
John Langell, MD, PhD, MPH
Bench-2-Bedside Program and the Center for Medical Innovation

January 26, 2015
Dr. Norman Foster, Director of Alzheimer’s Center

February 23, 2015
Update on Air Quality by Dr. Robert Paine and Kerry Kelly
Frankie Hurst and Eric Swanson, MD
University of Utah AirMed

March 23, 2015
ERDC Student Scholarship Interviews
9:30 AM – 3:00 PM

April 27, 2015
Dr. Jeffrey Campsen, Surgical Director of Pancreas Transplant and the Live Donor Kidney Transplant Program
Curing Diabetes and Kidney Disease: Kidney and Pancreas Transplant

May 18, 2015 (Third Monday due to holiday)
Ben Chan, MD & Adam Stevenson, MD
School of Medicine Scholarship Selection Process
(At the UNI Building)


The Educational Resource Development Council was established in 1991 with the purpose to provide its ten original members an opportunity to become acquainted and educated about the Health Sciences Center at the University of Utah. Today the council is comprised of women who represent philanthropic and professional interests within the community.

In 1997 ERDC became a charitable council and formed a project committee to initiate support for scholarships, special projects and programs, and equipment needs in the Health Sciences. To date ERDC has established nine endowments valued at more than $600,000, funded 246 scholarships and contributed to over 150 faculty projects and building campaigns.

Executive Committee

Chair Barbara Soulier
Vice-Chair Sidney Makoff
Scholarship Project/Program Chair Melanie Bastain
Past Chair Myra Hansen
Program Co-Chair Pat Christensen
Program Co-Chair Laurie Eastwood


ERDC Membership Requirements

Length of membership is negotiable.


Approximately 60–80 members (Members are asked to join by invitation only, through an annual nomination process.)

Current Members
  • Jesselie Anderson
  • Deborah Barkley
  • Melanie Bastian
  • Judith Billings
  • Ann Blackner
  • Connie Borup
  • Ann Stromberg Brown
  • Barbara Browning
  • Timmy Burton
  • Val Chin
  • Pat Christensen
  • Cecile Christiansen
  • Barbara Clark
  • Lindsay Cutshall
  • Laurie Eastwood
  • Elaine Ellis
  • Gayle Everest
  • Lynn Fey
  • Nancy Garrison
  • Harriett Gesteland
  • Marie Griffith
  • Myra Hansen
  • Laurie Hofmann
  • Kim Huish
  • Marian Ingham
  • Pam Joklik
  • Joyce Jorgensen
  • Catherine Kanter
  • Robyn Carter Keller
  • Cindy Kindred
  • Linda Kruse
  • Terry Landa
  • Merline Leaming
  • Chris Lee
  • Ann MacQuoid
  • Marilyn Maher
  • Sidney Makoff
  • Jackie Marsden
  • Judy Maryon
  • Marjorie Ann McClure
  • Sarah Meehan
  • Nancy Melich
  • Patty Miller
  • Judy Moreton
  • Carlyle Morris
  • June Morris
  • Jean Mueller
  • Elizabeth Nielson
  • Ruth Novak
  • Carol Osborn
  • Sandi Pershing
  • Beth Pratt
  • Terry Rampton
  • Sue Razor
  • Zoe Richardson
  • Karen Roney
  • Marilynn Roskelley
  • Carole Sanders
  • Janet Schaap
  • Claudia Skaggs Luttrell
  • Linda Smith
  • Susan Speer
  • Barbara Soulier
  • Diane Stewart
  • Liane Stillman
  • Martha Stockham
  • Norma Stromberg
  • Sonnie Swindle
  • Susan Walker
  • Virginia Whitby
  • Lisa Wirthlin
  • Linda Wolcott
  • Barbara Zimonja


ERDC Scholarship Video 2014


ERDC has contributed to over 150 faculty projects and programs. In 2013, ERDC provided funding for victims of stroke or brain injury to integrate back into social group interactions with book club at the Sugar House Rehabilitation Center.